About Me

I live in the Shoalhaven area of NSW Australia, two hours south of Sydney, with my husband (aka Action Man), two high schoolers, a dachshun, chooks, sheep and 5 acres, including vegie patch, orchard and vineyard to look after. I also work with disabled adults. In between wrangling this lot, I sew.

Despite growing up surrounded by truly excellent sewers in my Mum, aunts and grandmother, and having access to machines, patterns, fabrics and my mother's Burda Moden subscription, and having  plenty of encouragement, I was a perverse child and I never saw the need to learn to sew.

A course in Soft Furnishing in 2004 and 2005 gave me the confidence to find my way around a sewing machine (and I made 13 sets of curtains for my house along the way).

However wasn't until 2008 (I was in my early forties by then) that it dawned on me that sewing was the only way I would ever find clothes that (1) I liked (2) fit me (3) were made of natural fibres  and (4) I could afford. And I found these things called sewing blogs which inspired me to give clothes sewing a crack.

Now, much to my mother's amazement and frustration, I wear at least one Me-Made item every day.

For those who are interested, I drive a Bernina 330, and have a Bernina 800DL overlocker. I'm a Bernina girl through and through.

La Sartora is Friulano, the language spoken by my parents who hail from the far north-eastern corner of Ítaly,  for The Dressmaker.

Thanks for dropping by!


  1. I'm 65 and love the Japanese sewing patterns, I like your swimsuit cover up, I think when you aren't trying to hide in something big they can look great, which books do you have?
    I like Yoshiko Tsukiori, I have 2 of his., Lyn, Brisbane


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

MBM - Style Arc Avery

Me Made May 16 - Week 3

MBM - Liesl + Co Gallery Tunic, Version 2